Wednesday Wonderings 10

May 1 – What To Do After Poetry Month Ends

Image: a soul collage card I made expressing my healing through Kintsugi

I enjoyed participating in Writer’s Digest (WD) Poem A Day (PAD) for the month of April. I now have thirty poetry nuggets saved in a draft on my phone that I need to sort through and put into Word documents.

The process of moving the poem from my phone to a Word document is what I consider my first revision.

Each poem will go into its own Word document. Below each poem I will note the date the poem was written and what inspired it. For these thirty poems the inspiration will be the daily prompt provided by WD.

This information becomes helpful down the road when it is presented for submission or read, and I’m asked about its origin.

This poem below came about in October 2021 but my note about it unfortunately is not too informative:

Wabi-sabi,
finding beauty,
mending a cracked cup,
treasuring.

In my surroundings,
Aware of incense glowing,
smoldering,
fragrant.

Drinking in the tea,
savoring the spicy,
smoky herbs,
quiet.

Entering into the unknown,
unafraid,
simply encountering,
enjoying.

lad 10/29/2021

Note: I deliberately used the word “in” repeatedly

I present this poem again after it went through seven revisions and was published by Poetry for Mental Health:

Wabi Sabi

abounding
beauty
mending
cracked cup
smoldering
scented incense
simmering
botanic tea
savoring
spicy herb
being
simply

Writing Prompt: write about a moment – good or bad that has stayed with you.

Some Words to Consider: beauty, cup, scented, tea, spicy, and simply.

Namaste

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started